The Practical Fan

A blog about comics, toys, movies, tv and more

Convergence #0

The first issue of DC’s event came out on April Fool’s Day and DC was joking with us right?

Written by: Dan Jurgens & Jeff King
Art by: Ethan Van Sciver
Colored by: Marcelo Maiolo
Lettered by: Travis Lanham
Published by: DC Comics

I’ll admit up front that I have not been the biggest fan of DC recently. The New 52 has been pretty bad (horrible really) in my opinion. Because of that I was interested in Convergence because I hoped that it would “fix” the DCU. But reading what the event books were going to be and seeing the books they have coming out after the event, I think it’s in worse shape than before. Quick note on the event books: well it would be cool to read a story about Stephanie Brown-Bat Girl (my favorite) again, I don’t need to see it crossover with characters from another universe. No thanks.

convergence0I still wanted to read the event series, so I picked up #0. Can I get my $4.99 back.

Really, this issue was $4.99? They oversized the issue for this?

This was nothing but Superman and Brainiac talking. Well, Brainiac’s “Master” was there as well. I didn’t expect much in the way of answers in this issue, it’s introducing the event and the players involved. This issue was the opening, so it would ask questions.

But it didn’t even do that.

This issue did not need to exist. The things that it imparted on us could have been handled in five pages. This was nothing but filler. A lot of repetitive filler.

Brainiac’s master fears Superman. There are a lot of domes on this planet. They’re being judged. The Brainiacs combine to form one being. Five pages.

A very lackluster start to DC’s major event.

At least the Van Sciver art was nice. They did give him a lot of big images to do. They had to fill up the extra long issue somehow.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2015 by in Comics, DC Comics, Review and tagged , , , , , , , .
Follow The Practical Fan on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.